Projects at think[box]

 

"Pulse" - Illuminated Fashion February 5, 2014

This entry for the In The Dark illuminated fashion competition organized by the Cleveland Institute of Art, features dynamic multi-colored changing light strips that respond to the model's movement.

Contact:

Raymond Krajci - raymond.krajci@case.edu

Ben Horvat - bhorvat@student.cia.edu

Eric Payne - epayne@student.cia.edu

Marcy Kniss - mkniss@student.cia.edu

Corrugated Material Flammability Experiment January 22, 2014

An experiment was conducted to examine the effects of varying corrugation on upward flame spread on thin, solid fuel. The samples for testing were formed on molds laser cut at think[box].

Contact:
Gabriel Nastac - gcn13@case.edu

 

Sprāv Shower Meter October 22, 2013

Sprāv is a wireless water meter that gives you control of your water and energy consumption. Using a combination of instant feedback and usage tracking, Sprāv gives you the tools to reduce your utility bills as well as your eco-footprint.

Contact:
CJ Valle - cfv6@case.edu

Website: http://SpravWater.com

 
TAG Games August 27, 2013

A project focusing on developing and evaluating a novel approach for assessing an individual's cognitive, fine motor, and working memory skills via tangible interactive games. 

Contact:
Kiju Lee - kiju.lee@case.edu

Website: http://www.case.edu/mae/robotics/#TaG-Games

 
3D Topographic Map August 27, 2013

A site model of a local college campus to help the designers at Bialosky + Partners Architects study site, scale, massing, topography, orientation and also to better communicate the concept to the client.

Contact:
Philip Erb - perb@bialosky.com

Website: www.bialosky.com

Rapid Malaria Detector May 20, 2013

CWRU Researchers use lasers and magnets to detect traces of ferrite (a waste product of the malaria virus) in the bloodstream. This device detects malaria earlier than other rapid testing devices. Read more about this invention. 

USB Signal Master May 8, 2013

A team of five undergraduates designed and built a modular USB oscilloscope over the course of two semesters.

Contact:
Eric Laakmann - elaakmann@gmail.com

Case Rocketry Club March 17, 2013

The latest rocket made by the Case Rocketry Club featured laser-cut fins, electronics bulkheads and trays, a payload bay bulkhead, a camera holder, engine mout, and struts.

Contact:
Amogha Srirangaraja
 - aks115@case.edu

Hippocratic Hand March 17, 2013
 
Working to prevent the 48,000 deaths each year due to contagious infections caught while in a hospital, this novel concept involves a hand-shaped badge that healthcare workers can wear to signal to patients that they are willing to wash their hands upon request in the presence of the patients.

 

 

Contact:
Adam Clayman - adam@hippocratichand.org

 
Sociable Robot Head March 17, 2013

An anamatronic robotic face with over twelve degrees of freedom.

 

Contact:
Joseph Bashover - jbashover@gmail.com